Logo Sardinia Riviera con rappresentazione della Sardegna

Sardinia (AFI: /sarˈdeɲɲa/[8]; Sardìgna or Sardìnnia in Sardinian) is an Italian region with a special statute of 1 592 730 inhabitants with the capital Cagliari, whose bilingual name used in official communication is the Autonomous Region of Sardinia / The Autònoma de Sardigna Region[9].

Established in 1948, it is administratively divided into four provinces, a metropolitan city and 377 municipalities, has a population of 1 592 730 inhabitants, which with a territory of 24 100 km2 makes it the third region of Italy by area[10] and third last by density (66 inhab./km2).

It is located in the western Mediterranean and its territory coincides with the Sardinian archipelago, consisting almost entirely of the island of Sardinia and a considerable number of small islands and surrounding archipelagos. Its strategic[11] position and its wealth of minerals have favored in antiquity its population and the development of commercial traffic and cultural exchanges between its inhabitants and the coastal peoples[12].

Rich in mountains, forests, plains, largely uninhabited territories, streams, rocky coasts and long sandy beaches, for the variety of its ecosystems the island has been metaphorically defined as a micro-continent[13]. In modern times many travelers and writers have exalted its beauty, which remained uncontaminated at least until the contemporary[14] age, as well as immersed in a landscape that houses the vestiges of the Nuragic[15] civilization.



Compare listings